My library account Available Seats Opening Hours Information & Advice Chat (Mon-Fri 10am-6pm)
InfoCenter
+49 621 181 2948
Schloss Schneckenhof West
D 68131 Mannheim
Germany

Access to Elsevier journals

Access to issues of electronic journals published by Elsevier in 2018 is uncertain. The licensing negotiations between the DEAL project group and the publisher Elsevier have not come to a satisfactory conclusion.

To close this gap in journal supplies, the university library offers this service from 01 January 2018:

Students and staff members of the University of Mannheim can order articles from Elsevier journals published in 2018 via interlibrary loan free of charge.

If you are using the Primo catalog, follow the link “Access full text at” from the affected journals to open the order form for this service. If you are using a database, follow the link “UB Mannheim” to access the order function. The fee for this interlibrary loan will be waived.

Non-members of the University of Mannheim will be charged with the regular interlibrary loan fee.

For past volumes of Elsevier journals up to and including 2017, direct online access remains virtually unchanged.

Background

The goal of Project DEAL is to conclude nationwide licensing agreements for the entire portfolio of E-journals from the major academic publishers Elsevier, Springer and Wiley. These licensing agreements are to relieve the financial burden on individual institutions and bring wide-scale, lasting improvements in access to scholarly literature. At the same time, an open access component is to be implemented. The initiative was commissioned by the Alliance of Science Organizations in Germany – represented by the German Rectors’ Conference.

As the publisher Elsevier has not made a satisfactory offer since negotiations began in 2016, the State Rectors’ Conference of Baden-Württemberg decided to cancel the statewide contracts with Elsevier by the end of 2017.

More information

Projekt DEAL

Letter from the Rector of the University of Mannheim of 11 September 2017 (PDF, 53 KB, only available in German)

My library account Available Seats Opening Hours Information & Advice Chat (Mon-Fri 10am-6pm)
InfoCenter
+49 621 181 2948
Schloss Schneckenhof West
D 68131 Mannheim
Germany

Zugriff auf Elsevier-Zeitschriften

Der Zugriff auf elektronische Zeitschriften des Elsevier-Verlages ist ab Jahrgang 2018 nicht mehr gesichert. Die Verhandlungen über Lizenzverträge zwischen der Projektgruppe DEAL und dem Verlag Elsevier führten zu keinem zufriedenstellenden Ergebnis.

Um die Versorgungslücke zu schließen, bietet Ihnen die Universitätsbibliothek ab 01. Januar 2018 diesen Service:

Beschäftigte und Studierende der Universität Mannheim können Artikel aus Elsevier-Zeitschriften des Jahrgangs 2018 kostenfrei per Fernleihe bestellen.

Im Katalog Primo gelangen Sie bei den betroffenen Zeitschriften über „Volltext öffnen“ zu dem Bestellformular für diesen Service. In Fachdatenbanken führt Sie der „UB Mannheim“-Link zur Bestellfunktion. Die Gebühr für diese Fernleihbestellung wird Ihnen erlassen.

Wenn Sie kein Mitglied der Universität Mannheim sind, werden Ihnen die üblichen Fernleihgebühren berechnet.

Für ältere Jahrgänge der Elsevier-Zeitschriften bis einschließlich 2017 bleibt der direkte Online-Zugriff nahezu unverändert bestehen.

Hintergrund

Im Rahmen des Projektes DEAL sollen bundesweite Lizenzverträge für das gesamte Portfolio an E-Journals der großen Wissenschaftsverlage Elsevier, Springer und Wiley abgeschlossen werden. Diese Lizenzverträge sollen die einzelnen Einrichtungen finanziell entlasten und den Zugang zu wissenschaftlicher Literatur auf breiter und nachhaltiger Ebene verbessern. Zugleich soll eine Open-Access-Komponente implementiert werden. Auftraggeber für das Vorhaben ist die Allianz der deutschen Wissenschaftsorganisationen, vertreten durch die Hochschulrektorenkonferenz.

Da der Verlag Elsevier im Rahmen der seit 2016 laufenden Verhandlungen kein zufriedenstellendes Angebot vorgelegt hat, hat die Landesrektorenkonferenz Baden-Württemberg beschlossen, die landesweiten Verträge mit Elsevier zum Ende des Jahres 2017 zu kündigen.